Photowalk: Talking with subjects

DSC_4029

I met Carlos Abilla when I first went photowalking.Β He pointed to my camera and said he wanted to be a photographer, and because money was sparse, he somehow found a way to illegally move out of the country to go work in Malaysia as one. He was caught, jailed, and now he’s residing in Davao City working odd jobs.

I saw him at San Pedro Church selling strings of the fragrant sampaguita.

He pointed to my camera again and said, “I used to do that before, too”.

I nodded.

A few awkward seconds of silence passed.

And then he said, “I still want to be one.”

Author: Andrea Isabelle

I'm Andrea. Aside from being a house slave, I'm a Davao-based writer who's interested in building her career in PR and advertising. Thanks for reading this boring bio :p

Leave a Reply

